Biggest Massage Oriented Forums on the Planet - Massage.forum | MassagePlanet.net | Massage.live | Massage.chat

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Question on Chair Massage

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the site and I'm a student right now. We learned chair massage a little while ago in school, but I never was able to get comfortable with it. I had the routine down, but I'm 6'2" and about 275 lbs, I'm pretty athletic, and it was really hard on me. The chair always seemed to short and I was in a constant lunge trying to keep my body mechanics sound. My question is how relevant to my future business is it for me to perfect chair massage? We were told by our instuctor that it will get clients in our door that we would otherwise never be able to reach, but I don't know if it'll be a viable option for me. Will this just take some time for me to get used to with regular practice, or should I not worry about it? Thanks!

I also dislike doing chair massage due to body mechanics, partially from stature. Years ago I thought it might help get clients on my table, but it didn't. It may be different for others. Most of my clients have come from word-of-mouth. I had started my business by working on people I already knew, practicing on them for free while still in school. When it came time, I put an ad in the phone book. That's it. No more chair massage for me.