A Wonderful Holiday in LOS

Lilly D

Reaction score
I have been reading and enjoying this forum for a little more than a year without posting any comments. I have been visiting Patong Beach since 1995. I usually try to get there twice a year. I’m thinking about going back in March and pulled out my LOS files and came across an old time line article that I put together on my return from a trip in 2001. This is my first post, I hope you will not be too disappointed.
July, 2001.
I’m sitting on a 747 somewhere between Bangkok and Tokyo, on my way home to Miami.I’m trying to put my thoughts together about my incredible adventure in Thailand. The only thing I have to write on are the margins from a Bangkok Post newspaper. Some of the flight attendants and passengers are giving me some very curious glances as I do this.
I’ve been to Thailand many times and actually lived there for a while. I have always found the Far East an exotic place, but Thailand just has a special attraction for me that I cannot explain. Over the years I have made many friends in my favorite place, PatongBeach. These friends always help me feel very powerful when I’m there and sometimes jokingly refer to me as "King".
Traveling from Miami, USA to Patong Beach, Thailand takes a lot of patience. Usually it will take from 35 to 40 hours of plane flights and layovers to get there. The International flights have much better food, better entertainment, and service than our USA domestic flights, so it really is not as bad as it sounds.
Whenever I go to Thailand I contact my number one friends, Pia and Mike. They run the BlackRoseBar, which by the way was voted the #1 Bar in PatongBeach. They arrange transportation and lodging which eliminates a big hassle upon arrival.