Biggest Massage Oriented Forums on the Planet - Massage.forum | MassagePlanet.net | Massage.live | Massage.chat

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

help with neck pain

Aarif Ameen

Reaction score
i could use some advice. i'm still a student, so please be gentle with me ;)

my neighbor called me up this evening begging for help. she was complaining of a "pinched nerve" in her neck that was causing pain in her neck, back, shoulder and almost down into her chest. her new job involves her sitting at a desk with a keyboard that sits way too high for her and she drives an SUV - so her shoulders are up to her ears all day. i found trigger points all over her neck, shoulders and back. the worst ones were in the levator scapulae (one side was far worse than the other) and rhomboids minor. her traps were tight from top to bottom and her scalenes were like guitar strings. when i felt like i did all i could - i was afraid to do any more. i took my time warming her up and addressed each muscle individually and slowly. it was still pretty deep and painful for her and i didn't want to over do it. anyway, her pain was significantly reduced and her ROM was far better. except for one thing. turning her head away from the side with the most pain was done with ease at the end of the massage (something she could barely do when we first started). but when she turned her head into the pain her movement was restricted by pain, although she said not as bad as before. but still, it was not something i liked seeing. i'll admit that i'm still a bit gun shy when it comes to the anterior (and especially medial) side of the SCM. is this what i missed? or do you think it was something else entirely?