Biggest Massage Oriented Forums on the Planet - Massage.forum | MassagePlanet.net | Massage.live | Massage.chat

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help: NH small and equine massage laws/regulations, etc.???

Britta

Reaction score
Hello. I just joined the board. I have just been accepted to a school in MA to get my small animal massage certification. After that, I am going to take the equine one. I have searched ALL over the web trying to find out what the laws/regulations, etc., are to practice animal massage in NH. Can anyone help with this? I live in NH. I have 15+ years of Veterinary assisting experience but would like to start up my own business once I get my certifications. Thanks.

DeAnne :D

Hi...welcome! :D

I practice both equine & canine massage in NH...I also live in NH. It has been my understanding that animal massage was NOT considered to be the practice of Vet Med. I have only gone by a couple published lists where the data was compiled from contacting the Board of Vet Med for each state. I was recently enlightened by a client's Veterinarian that I needed a Vet referral to work on dogs. There was no mention of horses. Supposedly, according to this Vet, it's a new law that just passed in NH. I have consulted the usual places for tracking such legislative updates and have not found anything. I have even done an extensive online search and found nothing...but that doesn't mean that the new law doesn't exist, or that I didn't miss something. I looked at the NH Vet Board's website and could not find any reference to animal massage in general. I guess the NH Vet Board would be the best resource to obtain correct information in regard to a specific NH law or statute.